jump to navigation

Chocolate Truffle Cheesecake March 17, 2007

Posted by Sarah in Desserts.
trackback

I was pretty excited to see that Peabody was hosting the Donna Day Cheesecake event because I was just looking for something to take to a potluck. My best friend tore her ACL in Taekwondo and had to have surgery to repair it this week. Her kind roommate decided to throw a potluck for her once she got out of the hospital and I really wanted to bring something special. For my very first Donna Day submission, I give you Chocolate Truffle Cheesecake.

ChocChees2

This cheesecake is extremely rich. If you decide to have some, cut a small slice. Trust me, it will be enough! It is very creamy and smooth. I topped it with some broken chocolate drizzle.

This recipe comes from Eating Well magazine’s cookbook. I haven’t made many things out of it, but I wanted a lighter cheesecake, and I wanted to see how Eating Well dessert recipes were. The recipe called for 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese and 1% cottage cheese. I had never made a cheesecake with cottage cheese before and was happy to see that it worked out pretty well. I felt that I could have cut back on some of the coffee in the filling. I used Ghirardelli cocoa powder and some good dark chocolate so the chocolate flavor didn’t need that much enhancement. I think if I had cut back on the coffee, it would have been less rich… but maybe that was Eating Well’s plan… make it so rich that you can only eat a little bit! It worked for me! It was delicious.

Crust

1 cup chocolate wafer crumbs (about 20 wafers)

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 tablespoon canola oil

1 teaspoon instant coffee granules dissolved in 2 teaspoons hot water

Filling

24 oz. 1% cottage cheese

12 oz. reduced-fat cream cheese (1 1/2 cups) cut into pieces

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted

1/4 cup cornstarch

1 large egg

2 large egg whites

2 tablespoons instant coffee dissolved in 2 tablespoons hot water (I think you could get away with just 1 tablespoon)

2 teaspoons vanilla

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 oz. bittersweet chocolate, melted

Preheat oven to 325. Put a kettle of water on to heat for the water bath. Spray a 9-inch springform pan with cooking spray. Wrap the outside bottom of the pan with a double thickness of foil.

Blend crumbs, sugar, oil and coffee in a small bowl with a fork or your fingers. Press into bottom of the pan.

Puree cottage cheese in food processor until very smooth, stopping once or twice to scrape down the sides. Add cream cheese and blend. Pour into a large bowl. Whisk in brown and white sugars, cocoa and cornstarch. Add egg, egg whites, coffee, vanilla, salt and chocolate and blend well. Pour into crust-lined pan.

Place cheesecake in a roasting pan and pour in enough boiling water to come 1/2 inch up the side of the springform pan.

Bake the cheesecake until the edges are set but the center still jiggles, about 50 minutes – 1 hour. Turn off oven. Spray a knife with cooking spray and run it around the edge of the cake (I did not do the knife part and it worked out okay…) Let stand in the oven, with door ajar, for 1 hour. Transfer from the water bath to a wire rack; remove foil. Let cool to room temperature, about 1 hour. Refrigerate, uncovered, until chilled.

Before serving, garnish as you like (whipped cream, chocolate covered coffee beans, chocolate drizzle…).

Makes 16 servings

228 calories, 8 g fat, 27 mg cholesterol, 33 g carbohydrate, 10 g protein, 2 g fiber, 310 mg sodium

Comments»

1. Lisa - March 18, 2007

Wow. That looks amazing. I’d like some right now please! =) Love the idea of sprinkling on the set chocolate drizzle – very cute idea!

2. Emma Grinde - March 19, 2007

I copied the recipe, and put the ingrdients I don’t have on the grocery list. I am looking forward to making this cheesecake. You raved about it, so it must be amazing. It will also give me a chance to use my newish 9-inch springform pan!

3. Sarah - March 19, 2007

Thanks to both of you for coming by! I hope the cheesecake works out for you Emma! What a great way to break in a new pan!

4. Emma Grinde - March 23, 2007

I made the cheesecake! It was delicious! So good, creamy, fantastic! My family loves it too.

5. Culinary Concoctions by Peabody » HHDD #10 the round up - March 24, 2007

[...] that sounds decadent, but is better for us…is there such a thing? If there is I bet this Chocolate Truffle CheesecakeĀ is [...]

6. Brilynn - March 24, 2007

Anything with the word truffle in it has GOT to be good!

7. Helen - March 26, 2007

I am with Brilynn…anything truffles rocks!
What a nice gift to your friend!

8. barbara - March 30, 2007

This is my kinda dessert. Great cheesecake. Thanks for joining HHDD.

9. Sarah - March 31, 2007

Thanks for coming by!

10. gerda - April 2, 2007

boy oh boy … THAT is a good cake … i needed to modify it a little to fit my tiny mould, but hey: thanks for sharing that gorgeous recipe!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

