jump to navigation

Roast Chicken and Potatoes Catalan September 29, 2006

Posted by Sarah in Dinner, Uncategorized.
trackback

Roast Chicken and Potatoes Catalan

Roast Chicken and Potatoes Catalan

 Last night, I wanted a nice, homecooked meal that didn’t take too much effort to prepare.  A long time ago, I made this recipe from a cookbook I bought   America’s Favorite Brand Name Light Cooking.  It was okay, and a little more time consuming than I wanted.  So, I created this and it was delicious!   The chicken was juicy, lemony and nicely seasoned.  Don’t let the red pepper scare you.  This is not spicy! 

Serves: 2-3 people

Ingredients

2 T extra virgin olive oil

2 T fresh squeezed lemon juice

1 teaspoon dried thyme leaves

salt

1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper

1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric

2-3 large baking potatoes cut into chunks

1-2 sweet potatoes cut into chunks

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Lemons

Directions

Preheat oven to 400. Get out at jelly roll pan or a 9×13 baking dish. Combine oil, lemon juice, thyme, salt, ground red pepper and turmeric in a large bowl.  Mix well.  Add potatoes and sweet potatoes, toss to coat.

Arrange the potatoes in a single layer around the pan.  Trim the breasts of fat and other undesireables.  Put the chicken breasts in the remaining oil-spice mixture.  Coat on all sides, then place in the middle of the baking sheet.  Pour the remaining oil mixture over the potatoes and chicken in the pan.

Bake 20 minutes.  Turn the potatoes and brush chicken with pan juices.  Bake 20 minutes more or until chicken is no longer pink in the middle and registers above 165 on an instant read thermometer and potatoes are browned.

 Squeeze on some more fresh lemon juice, sprinkle on salt, and garnish with fresh chopped flat leaf parsley.

[You could also add in onions and/or red bell peppers after the first 20 minutes of cooking.  In the last 5 minutes of cooking you could sprinkle on some frozen peas]

Comments»

1. extrapolater - October 25, 2006

OK, I’m doing this one. Thanks for the good ideas for autumn meals!

2. extrapolater - November 1, 2006

I did make it! My wife and Mother in law were quite pleased. Always good when you can make the MIL smile.

3. Sarah - November 3, 2006

I’m glad it worked out for you! It is really easy and so good, especially for fall. It is also a good way to sneak sweet potatoes into a dish. I like them and my husband thinks they are “just okay”.

4. extrapolater - November 6, 2006

When I was growing up, all we ever had was “candied yams”. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, so I learned to hate sweet potatoes. Now that I’ve had them au naturel, I realize I really like them. They just don’t need any extra sugar in my opinion!

5. Sarah - November 10, 2006

I felt the same way. For Christmas and Thanksgiving my mom always made (and still does if I don’t watch carefully) the sweet potatoes from a can topped with brown sugar and mini marshmallows. It was disgusting. It tasted like sweeted tin can. So I too, learned to hate them. I’m not sure when the turning point came for me, but it was probably during one of my “eating healthier” kicks.


Leave a Reply

