jump to navigation

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies October 1, 2006

Posted by Sarah in Desserts, Uncategorized.
trackback

On Wednesday, I made one of my very favorite cookies (Chocolate Chocolate Chip) from one of my very favorite cookbooks (The New Best Recipe).  I made the cookies for a martial arts friend of mine, but also for my husband.  And, since the recipe makes so many cookies, I took some to work the next day too.  These cookies are very rich.  They have a deep chocolate flavor (enhanced by a little bit of espresso powder or instant coffee) and are deliciously chewy.  I modified the recipe a bit due to not having certain ingredients and they turned out very well.  I would say this is the best batch of these cookies I have made yet.  A few tips:  Do not over-mix these cookies or they will get cakey.  Do not over-bake these cookies.  When you take them out, they will seem under-baked, however, they will firm up as they cool.     

extreme-close-up-1.jpg     cookies-1-1.jpg

 

Ingredients

2 cups flour

1/2 cup cocoa (preferably Dutch processed)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

16 ounces semisweet chocolate chips

An additional bag of chocolate chips (I usually use semi-sweet, although mini-semi-sweets were what I used in this recipe.  You could also use milk chocolate or white chocolate chips if you wanted)

4 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 teaspoons instant coffee or espresso powder

10 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened but still cool

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup white sugar

Directions

Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl.

Melt the chocolate in the microwave for 1 minute.  Stir, heat for 30 seconds longer and stir again until smooth. 

Lightly beat the eggs in a small bowl, then sprinkle the espresso powder over to dissolve, set aside.

Beat the butter at medium speed for 5 seconds, until smooth and creamy.  Beat in the sugars until combined (45 sec), the mixture will look granular.  Reduce speed to low and gradually add the eggs until incorporated (45 sec).  Add the melted chocolate in a steady stream beating until combined (40 sec).  Scrape the sides and bottom with a rubber spatula.  With the mixer on low speed, add the dry ingredients and mix until almost combined.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Do NOT over-beat.  Cover with plastic wrap and let stand at room temperature for about 30 -45 minutes until the dough is firmer.

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Scoop the dough onto baking sheets with a 1 3/4 inch ice cream scoop, spacing about 1 1/2 inches apart.

Bake until the edges of the cookies have just begun to set but the centers are still very soft, about 10 minutes.  Rotate the baking sheets top to bottom and front to back halfway through baking time.  Cool the cookies on the sheets about 10 minutes, then carefully remove the cookies to wire racks and cool to room temperature. 

Store in an air-tight container for 2-3 days, if they last that long… Enjoy!     

Comments»

1. MIKE - December 10, 2006

I was looking for some nice recipes. And I did find your website which I like very much. I love your photos, if I look at them, I’m getting hungry 😉

I will try yours truffels. That will work for Christmas.
Thank you very much for sharing.
BYE MIKE

2. Sarah - December 10, 2006

Thank you for coming by! I’m glad you liked my site and I hope the truffles work out for you. I didn’t find many people that didn’t like them. The people that didn’t like them were self admitted “dark chocolate haters”.


Leave a Reply

