jump to navigation

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies October 27, 2006

Posted by Sarah in Desserts.
trackback

As I’ve said before, The New Best Recipe is one of my favorite cookbooks … well, really I love Cook’s Magazine and many of the cookbooks they put out.  I decided to try their Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe for my husband on his birthday.  My husband really love cookies and bars, which is why I have been making so many of them lately.

These cookies are best baked  15-16 minutes , unless you like them crispier, then bake them 2 minutes longer (although I suppose it does depend on your oven, too).  They are chewy and slightly over-sized.  This recipe makes anywhere between 15-18 big cookies, depending on how big you like them.

cookies-006.jpg

2 cups + 2 Tablespoons (10 5/8 oz) unbleached flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

12 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled until just warm

1 cup packed (7 oz) light or dark brown sugar

1/2 cup (3 1/2 oz) granulated sugar

1 large egg, plus 1 large egg yolk

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 bag semisweet chocolate chips

1. Heat oven to 325 degrees.  Grease 2-3 cookie sheets.

2. Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a bowl.

3. Either by hand or with an electric mixer, mix both sugars and the butter.  Beat in the egg and extra yolk, and vanilla until combined.  Add the dry ingredients and beat on low until just combined.  Stir in the chips. Let the dough sit for 3-5 minutes to firm up a bit.
4.  Roll a scant 1/4 cup of dough into a ball.  Pull the ball apart, rotate the jagged sides to the top side of the cookie, and smoosh the two pieces back together.  Put on the sheet jagged side up.  This makes them look really pretty when they are done.  Space them 2-3 inches apart.

5. Bake until the cookies are light golden brown, the edges are starting to harden, and the centers are still soft and puffy, 15 – 18 minutes.  Halfway through the baking time, rotate the sheets front to back and top to bottom.  Cool the cookies on the baking sheets.  Remove them from the sheets with a wide metal spatula.

cookies-016.jpg

Comments»

1. Lauren - October 31, 2006

These look quite delectible! They really do look thick and chewy, just the way I like chocolate chip cookies.

2. Foy - November 2, 2006

I can testify to the goodness of these cookies. I had one Sarah made and it was chewy in the middle and crunchy on the edges. I don’t know as though I would call them thick. No more so than any standard chocolate chip. But I guess, my standard is Jeff’s chocolate chip cookies and they are pretty thick.

3. Sarah - November 3, 2006

Thanks for coming by to visit my site. These cookies are really good and my husband just keeps asking me to make them, so I do. They really are best the day they are made. They are still good a day or two after, but there really isn’t anything else like a warm cookie from the oven…

4. Brilynn - November 7, 2006

Chocolate chip cookies should definitely be chewy, no thin crips for me.

5. Sarah - November 10, 2006

Totally! I also like them slightly underbaked. MMmmm.


Leave a Reply

