jump to navigation

Truffles: Take Two December 26, 2006

Posted by Sarah in Candy/Snacks.
trackback

After my first truffle making episode, I couldn’t fight back the urge to create more. After my first attempt at a basic truffle, I wanted to take a few more steps out there and do something more. When I was looking at the Sugar High Friday round up there were a lot of great entries to provoke my sweet tooth. However, one caught my eye and inspired me… and that was Nemisbéka’s Triple Chocolate Truffles. I really wanted to make those … but I also wanted to make other kinds. It was so perfect! So, I made the Triple Chocolate Truffles, but made extra ganache of each chocolate to make Milk Chocolate-Cashew Truffles, White Chocolate-Nutmeg Truffles, and Dark Chocolate Raspberry Truffles, too!

I have to say that they turned out quite well. I think my biggest problem was that the white chocolate ones were not as firm as I would have liked, making them very difficult to coat in chocolate.

Here they are in all their glory!

tripchoc.JPG

This is the Triple Chocolate one that I rolled in crushed chocolate wafers.

triptrufbite.JPG

That was a yummy first bite!

milkcash.JPG

Here is the Milk Chocolate Cashew…

milkcashbite.JPG

And that fussy White Chocolate-Nutmeg…

whichoc.JPG

It is always important to make sure there are no holes in your dipping or that ganache will try to find a way to escape… and it isn’t very pretty!

dipcarefully.JPG

And, last but not least, the Raspberry-Dark Chocolate Truffle! For some reason, my camera didn’t want to capture the true beauty of this truffle, but it was very fine looking. This was the one that most people said they liked the best. In second place was the Triple Chocolate ones. Third, was the White Chocolate-Nutmeg and fourth was the Milk Chocolate Cashew. I loved them all!

dakrasp.JPG

It took me part of Saturday the 16th and most of Sunday the 17th to make these beauties, but they turned out great! People loved them and I truly have plenty to give out as gifts. I made well over 100!

darkrasp2.JPG

Dark Chocolate Raspberry Truffles

2 lbs quality dark chocolate, finely chopped

1 2/3 cup heavy cream

2/3 cup seedless raspberry jam, melted until pourable

1 tablespoon raspberry liquor

1 lb. dark chocolate chopped, (reserve 1/4 of a pound un-chopped for tempering)

Directions: Place finely chopped chocolate in a large bowl. Heat cream until it boils. When it starts to boil, pour it over the chocolate. Stir until all the cream is incorporated. Add melted jam and liquor. Stir. Chill overnight or until firm. Scoop the truffles and roll to make a nice ball. Temper the chocolate and dip your truffles (see tips on how to do this from the last time I made truffles or by reading about it in The Joy of Cooking or another trusted source). This time, I dipped the truffles twice and it made a huge difference. I didn’t think it would, (or maybe I was too lazy…) but it really made them a lot nicer. There was an excellent snap to the chocolate and just created a better finished product.

White Chocolate Nutmeg Truffles

2 lbs. quality white chocolate, finely chopped

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

freshly grated nutmeg (I didn’t measure but you could start with 1 teaspoon and go from there)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1-2 lbs. white chocolate, reserving 1/4 lb. for tempering

Directions: Place finely chopped chocolate in a large bowl. Heat cream until it boils. When it starts to boil, pour it over the chocolate. Stir until all the cream is incorporated. Add the vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon. Stir. Chill overnight or until firm. Scoop the truffles and roll to make a nice ball. Refrigerate while you get the chocolate ready, if the ganache is too soft. Temper the chocolate and dip your truffles (see tips on how to do this from the last time I made truffles or by reading about it in The Joy of Cooking or another trusted source).

Milk Chocolate-Cashew Truffles

2 lbs. finely chopped milk chocolate

1 2/3 cups heavy cream

1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups finely chopped cashews

1-2 teaspoons salt

Place finely chopped chocolate in a large bowl. Heat cream until it boils. When it starts to boil, pour it over the chocolate. Stir until all the cream is incorporated. Stir in vanilla. Stir. Chill overnight or until firm. Scoop the truffles and roll to make a nice ball. Mix together the salt and cashews. Roll the truffles in the cashews to coat.

Triple Chocolate Truffles

(see Nemisbéka’s site for the recipe)

Comments»

1. nemisbéka - December 27, 2006

🙂 Hi Sarah, I’m so glad that you’ve liked them :). Your variations look quite great, I think I’ll try the dark chocolate raspberry type once. It’s a bit late to wish you a Merry Christmas, but a Happy New Year still stands :).

2. brother - December 28, 2006

These really are quite good. I had a chance to devour the cashew. I would take a homemade truffle over a Lindt or roche anyday. Good eats.

3. Sarah - December 31, 2006

Thanks to you both! Nemisbeka, your truffles were quite the inspiration! They were many people’s favorite! Thanks for coming by. Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

