jump to navigation

Pork Stew: A Work In Progress January 12, 2007

Posted by Sarah in Dinner.
trackback

pork stew 1

I have a recipe for a pork pot pie that for some reason provoked a desire for pork stew. I have never had pork stew or made pork stew or even had the pork pot pie that inspired this feeling… but I knew exactly how I wanted it to taste.

I wanted it to have a nice, rich, heavy pork flavor with big chunks of potatoes and sweet potatoes. I also wanted it to have a bit of sweet spiciness (not hot spicy, but cinnamon spicy… but not in such a way that you think, “Hey! This has cinnamon in it!”).

So, I started out by following the method used for my beef stew (browning meat, cooking for an hour, then adding the vegetables…) but my main problem was that I bought the wrong kind of meat.

I decided to buy the ingredients for pork stew on my way home from work and I forgot the cut of meat some other pork stew recipes had suggested. I remembered the words shoulder and tenderloin being used… but I knew I wanted something other than tenderloin. Although tenderloin is delicious, I was looking for a cheaper cut of meat. I ended up buying something that had way too much fat and was a major pain to cube. I should have just bought pork steaks, or just gone all out for tenderloin. But I really didn’t want to screw up an expensive piece of meat on an experimental recipe.

However, it turned out pretty well. I would definitely go for a different piece of meat and try to get a little more of that “extreme” pork flavor that I wanted (maybe use pork broth?) Even though this recipe was very satisfying, it is still a “recipe in progress” so some of it may change as I work to perfect it to my tastes.

Give it a try and let me know what you think. If you tweak it, let me know what you did and how it turned out!

Sarah’s Pork Stew

Ingredients

3 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoons flour

2 lbs. pork (tenderloin or maybe steaks?)

1/4 cup red wine

1 teaspoon each of dried thyme, sage, rosemary

1/2 teaspoon tarragon

1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 bay leaves

2 medium onions

8-10 cloves garlic, minced

2 med.-large potatoes

2 medium sweet potatoes

4 cups chicken broth

pork stew 2

Directions

Cube the pork into 1 inch chunks. Season with salt and pepper. Heat a large dutch oven over medium heat. Melt 1 1/2 tablespoons butter. Brown half of the meat until brown on all sides. Remove meat to a plate, add the rest of the butter and brown the rest of the meat. Remove the meat to the plate and add the onions, spices, garlic. Cook for 1 – 2 minutes. Add flour and cook for another 30 seconds to 1 minute. Add wine and scrape up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Add the broth and stir. Add the meat and cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Check the seasonings and adjust to taste. Add the potatoes and cook for 20 minutes. Check seasonings and adjust again. Then serve with a salad and your favorite bread.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

