jump to navigation

Skillet Sausage and Pasta March 9, 2007

Posted by Sarah in Dinner.
trackback

Skillet Sausage Pasta 1

Well, I must say I did not intend to be away from blogging this long. However, life happens and things get busy. We added a sweet European Golden Retriever to our family. His name is Staccato and he is 1 year old. I also just got through parent-teacher conferences and I had several IEP meetings as well. Needless to say, there were several late nights and a period of recovery. But, things are settling down here on the home-front. The dog is settling into his new home and we are quite the little family now.

Because things have been so busy, and money has been tight, I have been making a lot of easy “30-minute meals”. Many of these are “skillet” suppers from the New Best 30-Minute Recipe that I got for Christmas. Most of the recipes I have made have been pretty good and are ready in about 30 minutes, including prep time. Some that I have made and liked are Skillet Tamale Pie (ground beef, black beans, tomatoes, cheese and spices with a sweet cornbread topping), Skillet Shepherd’s Pie, Skillet Chili Mac and the recipe I am featuring here, Skillet Penne with Sausage and Spinach.

We ended up not having any penne in the house so I used a mix of rotini, broken linguine, and wagon wheel pasta (weird, I know… but it was what we had…) and it still tasted great. One of their “tips” is that the spinach seems like a lot when you add it, but that it cooks down quite a bit.

Skillet Sausage Pasta 2

Skillet Penne with Sausage and Spinach

(Serves 4)

1 T. olive oil

1 pound Italian-style turkey sausage, sweet or hot (I used a mix of both), casings removed

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 1/4 cups chicken broth

2 1/4 cups water

1/2 cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, rinsed and chopped fine

salt and black pepper

1 6 oz. bag baby spinach

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted (toast in a dry skillet over medium heat, stirring until golden)

1. Heat the oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat until just smoking. Add sausage, breaking it up and cook until lightly browned (3 min.) Stir in garlic and cook (30 sec.)

Stir in broth, water, penne, sun-dried tomatoes. Increase heat to high and cook, stirring often, until pasta is tender and liquid has thickened, 15-18 minutes.

Stir in spinach, handful at a time, and cook until wilted. Off heat, stir in Parmesan cheese and pine nuts. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Skillet Sausage Pasta 3

Comments»

1. Lisa - March 11, 2007

Welcome back – you’ve been missed!

I love 30 min. meals – they truly are the working gal’s (and guy’s) friend. hehe

This looks delish and I adore the broken pasta! Makes it much more interesting. 😀 I’ve added this to my list of simple and quick recipes to try soon, thanks!

PS – What are the odds of getting that dark chocolate creme brulee recipe you tried way back when? I stopped by often just to drool over the picture. lol

2. Sarah - March 17, 2007

The problem with the dark chocolate creme brulee recipe was that I used a mix of internet recipes and I didn’t save my changes because I wasn’t happy with how it turned out. I wish I had, so you could have it! However, I did use these links as a guide…

http://www.epicurious.com/cooking/menus/cooknow/recipes/1578
http://www.astray.com/recipes/?show=Dark%20chocolate%20creme%20brulee
http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m1216/is_2_210/ai_97176088
http://www.10news.com/cheflarry/4203768/detail.html

If you make one, let me know how it works out! Also, when I make it again, I’ll be sure to post the recipe!

3. Lisa - March 18, 2007

Thank you so much – at least I can get an idea by visiting those sites.. perfect! And yes, I’ll leave you a lil note when I make it. 😀


Leave a Reply

