jump to navigation

Nutmeg Angel Food Cake with Caramel Drizzle March 11, 2007

Posted by Sarah in Uncategorized.
trackback

Way back in November or December, my school had a staff potluck. I don’t remember what it was for, but I made a Nutmeg Angel Food Cake. I made it the night before and took it to school. Once I got to school, I fell ill and had to go home. However, I left my cake there for everyone to enjoy. I didn’t get to taste it, but everyone liked it, especially the caramel sauce. A co-worker of mine wanted the recipe and I promised it to her. Unfortunately, I kept forgetting to post it! I apologize for taking so long to put this up, Connie!

I will be making this cake again soon (I think for my dad’s birthday) so I’ll get some pictures then and post them. In the meantime, enjoy!

Nutmeg Angel Food Cake with Caramel Drizzle

From Food and Wine Magazine

Tips: Freshly grated nutmeg is very fluffy. When measuring it out, be sure to pack it slightly.

To bring egg whites to cool room temperature, separate eggs and place whites in a large bowl. Place bowl in sink or pan filled with 2-3 inches of hot tap water. Let stand 1-3 minutes until whites are at cool room temperature, stirring occasionally.

Cake

1 cup flour

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups egg whites (10-12 large) at cool room temperature

1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup superfine sugar

Caramel

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1 cup whipping cream

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Place flour, powdered sugar, nutmeg and salt in medium bowl. Sift 3 times to evenly distribute ingredients.

Place egg whites in a large bowl. Beat at medium-low speed until loose and foamy. Add cream of tartar and vanilla; beat at medium-high speed until soft peaks just begin to form. With the mixer running, slowly add superfine sugar in a steady stream, beating just until egg whites are glossy and hold peaks that slightly bend (Do not over-beat; peaks should not be dry and stiff).

Sift one third of the flour mixture over egg white mixture; gently fold to incorporate. Repeat with remaining flour mixture, making sure no lumps of flour remain but being careful egg whites do not deflate. Gently spoon mixture into ungreased 10-inch tube pan with removable bottom. Run long narrow spatula through cake to eliminate any large air bubbles; gently smooth top.

Bake 35-40 minutes or until cake is golden brown, springs back when gently touched and skewer inserted in center comes out clean. (Top may crack as it bakes.) Invert cake onto neck of a bottle or funnel, or let stand upside-down on feet attached to tube pan. Cool completely in pan 2 – 3 hours.

Meanwhile, to make sauce, melt butter in medium saucepan over medium heat. Add brown sugar; cook and stir 1-2 minutes or until sugar is dissolved. Add cream; bring to a boil. Boil 5-6 minutes until slightly thickened; cool to glaze consistency.

To remove cake from pan, slide thin narrow knife or spatula around edges of pan and tube. Lift tube out of pan; invert cake onto serving platter. Spoon caramel onto cake, allowing some to drizzle down the side; let stand until caramel is firm. Slice with serrated knife.

Serves 12: 265 calories, 10 g total fat, 5 g protein, 39.5 g carbohydrate 32.5 mg cholesterol, 110 mg sodium, .5 g fiber per serving.

Comments»

1. CS - March 11, 2007

Thank you for the recipe! I plan to impress the relatives at the next family dinner!
C

2. Lisa - March 11, 2007

Nutmeg and caramel! Yum! I tried my hand at an angel food cake last year and really liked it.. I’ll have to try this one too, thanks for sharing =)

3. Sarah - March 17, 2007

I have such an obsession with nutmeg! To have it in an angel food cake where it could be the star was perfect. And to add a caramel sauce on top was enough to sell me on it! Thanks for coming by!


Leave a Reply

